My Book Buying Addiction…

 Hey everyone!

My name is Charlotte Rose Hussey and I have a terrible book buying addiction. I say it’s terrible, but I rather enjoy it; my Mum is the one who thinks it’s a bad thing! (It could be drugs or alcohol Mummy, bare that in mind!)

There are a lot of thing I love about books: the smell of the pages when you  flick through them, the characters that you grow to either love or hate, and (my favourite) the thought of holding a well told story right in the palm of your hand. I love to walk into bookshops and be surrounded by hundreds of stories and characters and not know where to start looking!

DSCF4629 DSCF4630

I go through stages of reading; I either read whenever I have the chance or convince myself that I don’t have enough time (when really, I always do but I just can’t be bothered). To try and minimalise the chance of me not being bothered to read anything, this year I have set myself the goal of reading 20 books. I have a piece of paper stuck on my wall where I will write down the books I have read once they are finished and I am currently on my 5th (Delirium by Lauren Oliver).

I plan to do a blog post at the end of the year, reviewing all of the books I have read but I’ll quickly run through the first four:

  1. One Night in Italy by Lucy Diamond. This is a story about three people who are all going through hard times in their lives and each chapter is from the perspective of a different person. It got a little confusing at times due to the large number of characters but I soon got used to it!
  2. Peter Pan by J M Barrie. Peter Pan is one of my favourite Disney movies but I had never read the book (I feel awful about it). It is a really lovely and well told story; I love the last chapter which goes on further into the future than the film.
  3. The Watcher in the Shadows by Carlos Ruiz Zafón. This book was so gripping that I read it in two days (a record for me)! I have never really been into mysteries before but this book was so good I really want to read more like it.
  4. The Fault in our Stars by John Green. I must admit that I had never his book before now (I’m sorry!!) but I’m so glad I did read it I the end. I couldn’t help but  whenever Augustus Waters was described and now desperately want to go to Amsterdam!!

DSCF4635

I can’t wait to read the books I have bought (maybe I can stop myself buying more until I have read them all?!)

Charlotte x

Leave a Reply

